Slippers and hat and totes… oh my

Slippers are in progess. I think I’m going to felt mom’s (pink) first slipper before I make the matching slipper. I haven’t felted heathered Cascade Quattro before… I want to make sure.

I ran out of the blue Cascade 220 before finishing my slippers but that’s ok, I was making up my own pattern and I used remainders. The blue and green slipper on the bottom is felted to a nice comfy size 8 (room for socks). The pink slipper looks bigger than the striped one because my mom has bigger feet than me… I’m the smallest woman in my immediate family at 5ft7in and size 8 feet. I have both a short person’s complex and a tall person’s complex… life is so complex!

The next item is a hat with ear flaps that I made for Boy Caboodle out of one 50g skein of Idena Crazy (color 005, 75% superwash wool, 25% polyamid) on number 4’s. The store sample used exactly one skein… I ran out so you can see the tip of the hat is black and when I do the crochet edging, that will be black as well. It is big enough for me, I should have used smaller needles. The pattern is Schachenmayr Design 5332.

And finally, tote bags galore. I made the small one on the right first… it was the impetus for all the others. The other 3 are on their way to customers in Canada. I made 2 others… one went to NYC and the other to Kansas. My bags get around more than I do.

I wish I had a better camera, I would show you a close up of the closure on the red bag. I used beads and bracelet findings. It turned out cute but I don’t think I will do that again, the toggle pulls the ring up and it doesn’t look right.

Leave a Reply

