Birthday gift


BC attended the birthday party of a little girl this weekend. I asked her mother what kinds of things she was interested in. She mentioned trinkets (as in girly stuff), drawing stuff, and a couple other things. After a little thought, I came up with this pencil book which was inspired by Pink Chalk Studio. I wanted to include paper and stickers so I made a book instead of a roll.

The pencil section folds over once before folding over to close. It has a ribbon and button closure (the cat is the button).

If I make this again, I will use a heavy interfacing in the pencil section to give it more oomph.

I wanted to put in clear pockets under the pencils for stickers and such but had no idea how to do it or where to get the vinyl. After reading Craft Apple this morning I know both!

7 thoughts on “Birthday gift

  1. I recently saw that one too and I loved the little patch strips. I bookmarked it. Yours looks wonderful! and I love the idea of adding vinyl pockets. What a great gift! 😎

  2. That is such a creative gift! And perfect for a little girl who likes to draw. The cat button is such a nice touch. The vinyl is on a huge roll at our store – where the vinyl tablecloth-looking stuff is. Glad I could help.

Leave a Reply

