Speeding up and slowing down

These fabrics came in my mail a couple of days ago. There was no note or anything to describe the reason for it being there, and the return address meant nothing to me. The mystery was solved today when a repeat client claimed it at hers, she had it sent directly to me. She wants another bag. Good timing since I was feeling the urge to make another bag.

Cool fabrics (Alexander Henry)

In order to complete the all encompassing floor project, I bought molding. I promise it will look much better when it is attached to the wall and not laying in a stack on the living room floor. With any luck, I will be done in the next week. Then I will post photos of the finished floor.

I hesitate to post this tidbit of personal info but if it helps someone else, so be it. I have been incredibly overwhelmed since my son was born. When he was a year old, I started taking antidepressents because I wasn’t functioning very well. Anyway, two years later and I was still overwhelmed, and my home is in complete chaos. Last week, I went to a new doctor who diagnosed me with ADHD. I felt the difference 3 hours after I started taking the new meds. I spent all weekend cleaning and organizing. I feel none of the brittle, overwhelmed feelings that have made me nonfunctional for far too long. My life would certainly have been different if I knew I had ADHD twenty years ago. I feel sad about the losses but I’m hopeful that I can face new challenges now. I encourage everybody that feels the way I did to peruse Delivered from Distraction by Hallowell and Ratey. I borrowed a copy from the library.

Now you may understand why I go from project to project, from craft to craft. I still plan to do a lot but maybe I will get my crafts area organized finally πŸ˜‰

10 thoughts on “Speeding up and slowing down

  1. Yay for you for getting help!

    I had horrible PPD after Darwin, and we really should have gotten me help. I’m glad I finally came out of it, but it’s scary to think back to how close to the edge I really was.

  2. I love the retro fabrics – makes me feel I’m back in high school! It’s good you’ve gotten a diagnosis and are receiving the help you need to focus.

  3. That client should feel lucky that you hadn’t already cut into it for yourself!

    You really don’t realize how bad you feel until you feel better, huh? I started a new thing for my allergies (won’t gross you out with the details) and my headaches have almost disappeared. I had forgotten what “good” felt like! I am SO GLAD you have a doctor that diagnosed you and got you on the drugs you need!

  4. Wow. 3 hours, huh? I’m so excited for you! My God, if you get a decent night’s sleep under your belt as well, you’re going to take over the world…

    I hope I can keep up. πŸ™‚

  5. It’s so good to hear that you had your problems diagnosed and treated now – and doesn’t it make such a big difference? I’ve been suffering from depressions for most of my life, and only a couple years back I realized I needed help – I got it and it worked so well, it was like a new life began. People are often reluctant to take medication, but if it makes such a big difference and raises life quality so much, then it would be foolish not to take it but instead continue to suffer.
    I’m sending all the good vibes over and hope you’ll continue to feel better and better each and every day!

  6. Oh wow, I can relate. I think it’s great that you went for help AND that you felt a difference so fast! I hope this really improves the quality of life for you. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

