Two steps forward, one step back

The floor is almost done! I put the baseboards up this past weekend. Now I have to caulk and paint them. It promises to be more back breaking work. That is ok because I love my floor!

I need to finish the threshholds but that is another ‘special order’ item. It may be a while before I get to put them in.

I also finished the body of Ruby Red this weekend. Then I tried it on, and it fit like a glove… but it made me look like a red dishwasher. Into the frog pile it goes! I don’t need clothes that remind me of appliances. Don’t worry, I made so many mistakes on this sweater that I feel good about ripping it out.


In other news, thank you all for your kind words and thoughts. I am moving onto the acceptance phase of grief. I feel so much better that it is getting easier to not dwell on the might-have-beens. My house hasn’t looked this good since BC was born. I have tons of energy and I don’t seem to need as much sleep as I used to. I’m also looking forward to some of the challenges that I couldn’t deal with before. So, in the here and now, things are really good.

9 thoughts on “Two steps forward, one step back

  1. Wow those floors look great! Sorry about your sweater, but from here it looks super cute. Hooray for energy, so glad that things are going well, hugs to you!

  2. The reaction from this slow knitter is NOOOOOO – that looks like a ton of work to be pulling out. I’m sorry it reminds you of a dishwasher – that really stinks. I went trying on swimsuits the other day and well, lets just say I understand.

    I feel like a lot of the big life changes in my life are over – HS graduation, college, getting married, having kids, but you, you’ve gotten this huge life change at a relatively mundane time in your life. That’s pretty neat. Having a clean house must feel great! I’m glad you’re doing better!

  3. Glad to that you are feeling better! The floor looks great! No one should allow themselves to feel like they look like a dishwasher I’m glad that you put it in the frog pile. Look at it as a learning sweater!

  4. This floor is absolutely amazing, one could really get a bit jealous looking at it! πŸ˜‰ Fantastic work!
    And oy, so sorry to hear about your sweater – but then again, there’s no use in keeping something that you wouldn’t wear! I agree with Martina, just see it as a learning experience, and you’ll see, the next one will be the perfect one!

  5. Whoa! The floor looks sooo pretty! and I really like the wall color with it. Nice job!
    Also, so glad your moving up and on. That must be a good and even an exciting feeling. πŸ˜‰

  6. I’m so glad to hear that you’re feeling better. Now, so many possibilities lie ahead of you.

    Your floors look fabulous! We’ve lived without threshholds in our house for two years now, yet another thing that needs to be done. My entire house is a never ending list of things to do. I’m sure you’ll have your threshholds before I get mine.

  7. Look at those floors! I love the look of bamboo floors. Too bad about the sweater! I’ve had to frog too and it’s no fun, but I’m with the others. If you’re not going to wear it, no point in keeping it around.

Leave a Reply

