Knitterly progress

Last week, in preparation for BC’s party, I stopped all crafting that was not directly related to the event. As you saw in the last entry, I did quite a bit of crafting for the party and I didn’t even show it all to you! But that is over until next year… thank goodness, I was exhausted after the party. I went to bed at 6pm that night and didn’t get up until 7:30am the next morning. By 10pm the next day, I had the flu! Woohoo! I had 4 brief days of feeling fine after finding an allergy med that worked. Now, I’m back into head spinning, exhaustion, etc…. I’m sure it won’t last more than 2 more weeks if previous bouts of flu were anything to go by. I’ll try not to whine too much…

Last night, I couldn’t breathe so I stayed up late… making progress on my latest sweater. I was surprised when none of the hardcore knitters recognized the pattern… you all must be too busy with your own holiday preparations. I’ve provided a hint in this picture:

Sweater

This is a fun Norah Gaughn sweater. It has cables, twisted stitches, seed stitch, stockinette, reverse stockinette, lace, so many stitches… it goes by quickly and my fingers seem to ‘understand’ the pattern without much assistance from the brain. I am making some changes to the pattern. I have a long torso, so I added an inch to the length… which was eliminated midpattern when I misread the instructions. I only discovered the error as I was working on the second front panel (the back was done), so I left it. I plan to make the sleeves at least 3/4 length… the pattern stops at the elbow as written, I like a longer sleeve. I would have preferred an earthier color but I had this blue yarn in my stash.

10 thoughts on “Knitterly progress

  1. Maybe one day I can understand all the stitches you just named. It’s like a foreign language! :o) Also, maybe one day my hands will be able to knit without the assistance of my brain – maybe…maybe not! All the patterns in the sweater are so pretty.

    So can I ask you a knitting question? I was looking through DS’s junior knits and there was a cute (supposedly easy) jacket in there for kids (of course). How hard would it be for a beginner to adapt that to fit an adult? Do you have that book? It’s the Mia.

  2. Oh – I’m so sorry to hear that the flu bug hit you, it’s so horrible, isn’t it? Do try to get as much rest as possible – as possible as it can be around this time of year – and I’m sending over all the positive vibes that I can to you! Hope you’ll feel better very, very soon!
    My, your sweater is going to look gorgeous – it actually already does! What an amazingly beautiful color, so cheerful and thus perfect to cheer up a dull winter’s day! The pattern is amazing indeed – I hadn’t seen it before, but then again I hardly get to see overseas knitting magazines unfortunately. Great design, and I can’t wait to see how it’ll turn out!

  3. Pingback: Knitting Caboodle

Leave a Reply

