What I want for Christmas

I’ve been busy getting ready for the holidays. That includes keeping up with clients that order at the last minute (hmm, sounds like someone I know… me!). During this time, my mind has been free to ponder what I want for Christmas and the New Year.

Health… I haven’t been very healthy this past year.

The greatest wealth is health. ~Virgil

Energy… This goes with health. When I’m not healthy, I have no energy. I really, really want to feel energetic this year.

The hardest work is to go idle. ~Yiddish Proverb

Sleep… This goes with energy and health. I need more unbroken sleep to be healthy and energetic.

A good laugh and a long sleep are the best cures in the doctor’s book. ~Irish Proverb

Patience… I have very little patience lately.

One moment of patience may ward off great disaster. One moment of impatience may ruin a whole life. ~Chinese Proverb

Determination and Perseverance… There are a number of things that I want to accomplish: BC’s education, maintain and build friendships, stay on a budget, get my diet and exercise underway, design a college course, rebuild my relationship with MC… these aren’t in any kind of order.

An unfulfilled vocation drains the color from a man’s entire existence. ~Honoré de Balzac, “Scnes de la vie Parisienne,” La Maison Nucingen, 1838 (this one is for MC)

Don’t let the fear of the time it will take to accomplish something stand in the way of your doing it. The time will pass anyway; we might just as well put that passing time to the best possible use. ~Earl Nightingale

HumorI lost my sense of humor along the way. If you happen across it, please send it back my way!

Humor is the great thing, the saving thing. The minute it crops up, all our irritation and resentments slip away, and a sunny spirit takes their place. ~Mark Twain

What do you want for the New Year?

6 thoughts on “What I want for Christmas

  1. Best of luck! I could use all of those things too.
    Seriously, if you want some a cyber buddy weight loss support after the new year, I’m in. I need to start working on that.

  2. Honey, you are so modest! Great! And Virgil was right – I specially appriciate it when my kids are sick!
    Me? Well, would like to stay sarcastic and keep away of people. But I have started taking orders from people, so will have to soft a little! A little I hope will be enough!

  3. Yeah – I don’t usually sew for people, but this December I had 3 purses, 5 drawing cases, and a diaper bag to sew. Whew – I’m glad that’s all done!

    Between Matt (hubby) and I, I’ve always been the energetic one. But since I’ve had kids, I have NO energy. The other day, Timo said something about how Daddy is the one who plays so much. I wanted to tell him it’s because I’m doing dishes and laundry, but the truth is, I thought I would play more with the kids. I want my energy back as well.

Leave a Reply

