It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas…

But not here! Haha, I’m in denial that Christmas is 3 days away and I forgot to get stocking stuffers!

model.jpg

Some of you all demanded a model picture of the “to rip, or not to rip” sweater. Here it is in all it’s misknit glory. As you can see I have labeled the picture so that you know what I’m detailing:

A: The arms are so tight that it pulls the shoulder down off my shoulder. It also pulls the shoulder seam onto my back but I yanked it into position for the photo. Being too tight, the collar isn’t in the right position on my neck and the front of the sweater pulls up in the front.

B: The stretched out seed stitch enhances the size of my upper arms. This is partly my fault because of where I put the decreases. Even if the sleeve weren’t tight, I would consider ripping it out to the elbow to move those decreases. Let’s call that a lesson learned.

C: The bottom of the sweater hits right on the top of my hip, not a great place to have extra flare since I have enough of my own.

D: The godets (gussets) or flared seed stitch portion at the bottom of the sweater just doesn’t look good to my eye. It looked good on the magazine model but you know she is a size 0 and anything looks great on her. Part of this may be that the sweater is too wide at the bottom (for me) so it looks odd. It may look better when the sweater is more snug.

Additionally: I realize looking at this picture that the sweater looks unbalanced lengthwise because I knit long sleeves into it. If the sleeves were elbow-length, it would look more balanced. In order to balance out the longer sleeves, it looks like I need to take the sweater down 3-4 inches (to the bottom of the black shirt).

Also: I want to point out that I don’t wear black shirts with that skirt in public, I was a fashion hazard in the comfort of my own home.

I have decided that this sweater is really worth ripping out and reknitting to get the look I want. In the meantime, I am working on new projects! Behold:

cottonscs.jpg

This is the start of My So Called Scarf in a recycled cotton made by K1C2. The yarn is too slippery for metal needles so I switched to bamboo. I have knit this pattern in other materials and I can honestly say that cotton is not a good choice. If you knit this scarf (and I think you should), use an animal fiber… trust me. Also, I want to point out that this pattern is boring in solid color. Ask me how I know.

magpic.jpg

This sweater is also on the needles. I am modifying the pattern by size, color, and yarn. It took me 3 hours last night (lots and lots of interruptions) to get the first 17 rows of the sleeve knit. I had to completely redo the first color chart since I have a modified the number of stitches in the sleeves. For some reason, I have to have this sweater even though I know I am going to need to redesign the front. There is no way that closure is going to look good over my schnoobs!

As the season is bearing down on us, I want to wish all of you and your families very warm and happy holidays!

MERRY CHRISTMAS!

12 thoughts on “It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas…

  1. OOooo! Sorry to hear that the cotton is not pleasant to knit with, because it sure is pretty to look at!

    Yes, I just ended two phrases with prepositions in one sentence. And I was an English major.

    Best wishes for beer-fueled fortification for frogging. Nantucket shall rise again!

  2. Nantucket is a beautiful pattern but I agree that the proportions would be better with a longer knitted bodice. Too bad it is not knit from the top down; it would be so much easier to add inches. 😦 The ONE good thing about being short (my case) is that I rarely have to lengthen patterns but do often have to shorten them – hence faster UFOs!

  3. Hmmm… Yes, okay. After looking closely at the modelled photo and checking all the parts you pointed out, I’ll have to agree, perhaps you should really rip and re-knit it with a longer bodice and those additional changes you mentioned. The way it is now, I guess you won’t ever wear it, and where’s the point then in keeping it? It’s such a gorgeous pattern, but it definitely needs a couple modifications to it. Nonetheless, you knit it up beautifully and you’ll do so the second time around too – and then it’ll have the perfect fit!
    Happy Holidays!

  4. OK, rip it! You rip I’ll cry!
    So-called scarf ig great pattern! Also more than suitable for last-minute gift!
    Sretan Bozic i Nova godina (Merry X-mas and happy new year in croatian)

  5. You’re brave to go through making a sweater & then rip it out, but it’s best to do whatever it takes to make it wearable–and make you happy with it. Good luck & Merry Christmas!

  6. Yes, yes, I think you’ve made the right decision. At least this way you’ll actually wear it, right? Instead of admiring it for a couple of years, then parting with it. Ask ME how I know. :o) It seems to happen with every piece of clothing I try to sew.

    I didn’t notice your fashion hazard. Hee hee. I DID think that I remember that’s a skirt you made. Yes, you knit sweaters and make skirts…you are so talented! So I’ve seen some knit skirts around (on people). Is this a new trend? Obviously I’m not up with what is cool. Would a skirt be an easy thing to knit? I don’t think I’m ready for a sweater, but I don’t really want to do another scarf. Okay, I know your busy – I should just do a web search, right? Okay. :o)

    Have a happy Christmas!

  7. well, yes. I suppose the arms are a bit tight. Get uncormfortable after a while… Personally I don’t mind the short length, with a white top peeking from underneath I think it’d look fine.

    But hey, you have the patience of Penelope to rip it up and start again! I admire you for that.

    The scarf looks lovely!

  8. In Knitting in the Old Way by Priscilla Gibson-Roberts, the tops of set-in sleeves should be 35% of the master number (around the bust). That measurement in this pattern is less than 30% which explains why they pull so badly. They are simply too tight.

    The other thing that I find so odd about this pattern is that the hips are quite large while the bust and waist are about the same. Was it designed for flat chested women who have hips? In the pictures, the hip part doesn’t look “ruffled” at all, though it does a bit in your picture. I’m curious as to what size you made and what your corresponding bust, waist and hip measurements are (you can reply directly via email if you wish). It looks good in the waist ease-wise but a bit snug around the bustline and too big at the hips. Just my opinion…

    If you were to add length, I would add it above the gusset-triangle things at the bottom. I don’t think the length is as bad as you think. If it had less ease around the hips and a bit more around the bust, the length would be just fine.

    Feel free to email me back directly if you wish. I’m obsessed with this pattern myself, and I love to crunch numbers. I do technical editing for designers from time to time I might be able to help you find a solution.

  9. I like your colors for the Knitter’s Magazine cover sweater much more than the colors they chose. I thought it was a rather ugly sweater when I saw it in the magazine but seeing your color choices has made me want to try it myself.

Leave a Reply

