Polonius-style

Here’s where I would have put a picture of my latest project if Flickr weren’t acting up. Is anyone else having problems with Flickr, or is it just me?

Picture a raspberry red knit tank top.

I would have finished it last week but the dreaded virus set in. This one is called “The Tank Top That Will Make Me Feel Like An Oblivious Size 0 Starlet Lounging On The Beach With Some Nameless Hunk Next To Her”. The name is a bit long but kind of catchy, don’t you think?

Is it too much to expect life changing experiences with our knitted projects?

I can’t say for sure but I don’t think this one is going to live up to its name. It may be the “size 0” thing… that is going to take some powerful strong imagination! It might be easier to just give it to a size 0 starlet who is interested in lounging on the beach oblivious to everything while her gorgeous, yet nameless, hunk gazes fondly on her.

Okay, daydreaming is over…

Do you remember the list? Here it is again:

1. Up the amount of exercise but bring down the intensity.
2. Cut out most sugar.
3. Cut out most wheat.
4. Think ahead on projects.
5. Get out of these jammies!

And here is what is happening:

A. I went on thyroid meds… and HELLO! I forgot what energy felt like!

My hormone levels fell into the no-man’s land of thyroid medicine. If you do a search on TSH (thyroid stimulating hormone) levels, you will be very confused because some doctors use the older range, other doctors use the newer, narrower range. My family doctor uses the old range and wouldn’t treat me. My endocrinologist considers more than just the number, he looks at symptoms as well. And he looks at all the numbers, not just TSH.

B. I have to wait an hour before eating in the morning because of the thyroid meds. Then Wham! Hello, hypoglycemia, my old friend. I don’t know about you but I can’t do anything when I’m having a low sugar episode.

Back to the list:

1. I am slowly raising the amount of exercise I do. I have to be careful about the combination of intensity and duration because I get very, very tired if I do too much (I’m hoping that will change with the meds). I cannot exercise at all when I have hypoglycemia. And exercise can induce low blood sugar if I’m not careful.

2. and 3. These two items (sugar and wheat) are now combined. They both affect my blood sugar levels. Last week, I started on The Zone diet to control my hypoglycemia. It is a 40% carbohydrate, 30% protein, and 30% fat type of diet. I am pretty sure it is working.

The Zone works by controlling the amount of insulin and glucagon that is let loose in your system (or something like that). This diet almost automatically excludes sugar and wheat because of the increased insulin reaction to these high glycemic load foods.

I am a sugar addict. Give me a big package of candy, and I’ll give you an empty bag. The great thing about The Zone is that I am not hungry or craving sugar. If I do, then it means I’m out of the zone, and I have to tweak my diet to get it back into the zone.

4. Think ahead on projects. Ha! I’m going to keep working on this. It would help if I could find a notebook that I can tote with me all the time… like chained to me. I have several notebooks now but they are always in the other bag when I need them.

5. Get out of these jammies! Hahahaha! I love comfy jammies. I’m still in mine now. I suppose I will have to change soon because I promised BC I would take him to the park. However, I have done quite a bit today, and that was the point of getting out of my pjs. Most people tend to be more productive when they get dressed for the day.

Whew! That was a long one! 🙂

9 thoughts on “Polonius-style

  1. I recently uploaded and posted pics on flickr and my blog – so no problems so far (but you can never be 100% sure).

    Just big hello and hug to you!

  2. have you had your doctor check your free T3 levels? that’s the one that control everything and it’s not included in the TSH test.

    (i have a thyroid disorder called wilson’s syndrome. i’m all over the thyroid issues.)

    glad you are feeling better. i love the zone diet, i think it really makes an improvement in you general health.

  3. Ahh – I adore the name you gave your top – can’t wait to see it!
    Your thyroid medication seems to be really tough, but then again, your doctor seems to be a good one, so you’re certainly on the right path!

  4. Wow – you’ve had a lot of changes in the last few months. Thyroid meds, ADHD meds. You should be feeling GREAT! :o) Interesting post – all the zones, glycogen, glucagen, hypoglycemia – I don’t know how you keep it all straight. I’m sure it’s incredibly difficult to get 40% of your diet from carbs sans the wheat and sugar. The top looks great, by the way. And size 0 sounds almost gross to me – how about size 4? Still on the gross side, but a little more easy to imagine. :o)

  5. Pingback: Energized bunny « Knitting Caboodle

Leave a Reply

