Books, books, books

I got this list from Two Lime Leaves, she got it from someone else, etc, so on and so forth:

“You are supposed mark the books you have read, want to or again and again if it’s one you keep reading.” I marked the ones that I’ve read or attempted to read.

1. The Da Vinci Code (Dan Brown)
2. Pride and Prejudice (Jane Austen)
3. To Kill A Mockingbird (Harper Lee)
4. Gone With The Wind (Margaret Mitchell)
5. 6. 7. The Lord of the Rings (Tolkien) { I combined the series into one line.} I have read this series twice: once when I was in my teens, and then when the movies came out.
8. Anne of Green Gables (L.M. Montgomery) I don’t remember when I read it, I remember it as being a good read at the time.
9. Outlander (Diana Gabaldon)
10. A Fine Balance (Rohinton Mistry)
11. 13. 16. 19. 57. Harry Potter (Rowling) {I combined the Harry Potter books into one line} I read the first book. I would probably read more if I got them free or borrowed them from the library. It was enjoyable but I don’t want to invest in the series.
12. Angels and Demons (Dan Brown)
14. A Prayer for Owen Meany (John Irving)
15. Memoirs of a Geisha (Arthur Golden) I really enjoyed this book. I read it the summer before the movie came out by coincidence.
17. Fall on Your Knees(Ann-Marie MacDonald)
18. The Stand (Stephen King)
20. Jane Eyre (Charlotte Bronte) Excellent.
21. The Hobbit (Tolkien)
22. The Catcher in the Rye (J.D. Salinger) Boring, I think I was too young to read this type of book when I read it in high school.
23. Little Women (Louisa May Alcott) Loved this when I was 12.
24. The Lovely Bones (Alice Sebold)
25. Life of Pi (Yann Martel)
26. The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy (Douglas Adams)
27. Wuthering Heights (Emily Bronte)
28. The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe (C. S. Lewis) I read this when I was younger and enjoyed it, I read it again as an adult and enjoyed it again.
29. East of Eden (John Steinbeck)
30. Tuesdays with Morrie (Mitch Albom)
31. Dune (Frank Herbert)
32. The Notebook (Nicholas Sparks)
33. Atlas Shrugged (Ayn Rand)
34. 1984 (Orwell) School read.
35. The Mists of Avalon (Marion Zimmer Bradley) I may have read this one, it sounds familiar.
36. The Pillars of the Earth (Ken Follett)
37. The Power of One (Bryce Courtenay)
38. I Know This Much is True (Wally Lamb)
39. The Red Tent (Anita Diamant)
40. The Alchemist (Paulo Coelho)
41. The Clan of the Cave Bear (Jean M. Auel)
42. The Kite Runner (Khaled Hosseini)
43. Confessions of a Shopaholic (Sophie Kinsella)
44. The Five People You Meet In Heaven (Mitch Albom)
45. The Bible
46. Anna Karenina (Tolstoy)
47. The Count of Monte Cristo (Alexandre Dumas)
48. Angela’s Ashes (Frank McCourt) This book was so depressing, I couldn’t get past the first chapter. It is very well written, and interesting, but I’m not at a place in my life right now where I can tolerate reading a whole book that depresses me.
49. The Grapes of Wrath (John Steinbeck) Enjoyed it. School read.
50. She’s Come Undone (Wally Lamb)
51. The Poisonwood Bible (Barbara Kingsolver) This is not my favorite Kingsolver book but it’s still good.
52. A Tale of Two Cities (Dickens) I read this in school. I wasn’t a Dickens fan but I might try it again someday.
53. Ender’s Game (Orson Scott Card)
54. Great Expectations (Dickens) School again.
55. The Great Gatsby (Fitzgerald) School again. Twice.
56. The Stone Angel (Margaret Laurence)
58. The Thorn Birds (Colleen McCullough) Ugh.
59. The Handmaid’s Tale (Margaret Atwood) Depressing.
60. The Time Traveller’s Wife (Audrew Niffenegger)
61. Crime and Punishment (Fyodor Dostoyevsky) I read this in school, and it was depressing.
62. The Fountainhead (Ayn Rand) I should have combined the Ayn Rand novels. Her books were an interesting diversion but I don’t feel the need to read them again.
63. War and Peace (Tolsoy) Lordy, another school book.
64. Interview With The Vampire (Anne Rice) I saw the movie.
65. Fifth Business (Robertson Davis)
66. One Hundred Years Of Solitude (Gabriel Garcia Marquez)
67. The Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants (Ann Brashares)
68. Catch-22 (Joseph Heller) I know I read this in high school but I don’t remember much.
69. Les Miserables (Hugo) Another school read… boy! My teachers really picked some humdingers. I didn’t feel the need to see the movie or the play, I’ve paid my dues.
70. The Little Prince (Antoine de Saint-Exupery) It’s a beautiful book and I bought a copy for my son when he was a few months old in anticipation.
71. Bridget Jones’ Diary (Fielding) Saw the movie.
72. Love in the Time of Cholera (Marquez)
73. Shogun (James Clavell) Couldn’t get into it.
74. The English Patient (Michael Ondaatje) Beautiful integration of scenery and writing style. The book and the movie are only related by the surface story. The writing did not come across in the movie. BTW, my husband couldn’t stand this book.
75.The Secret Garden (Frances Hodgson Burnett) I feel like I should have read this book but I haven’t.
76. Tigana (Guy Gavriel Kay)
77. A Tree Grows in Brooklyn (Betty Smith)
78. The World According To Garp (John Irving) I really enjoyed this book. I liked the movie well enough but the book was great.
79. The Diviners (Margaret Laurence)
80. Charlotte’s Web (E.B. White) I read this in 3rd grade, it was so sad.
81. Not Wanted On The Voyage (Timothy Findley)
82. Of Mice And Men (Steinbeck) School read.
83. Rebecca (Daphne DuMaurier)
84. Wizard’s First Rule (Terry Goodkind)
85. Emma (Jane Austen)
86. Watership Down (Richard Adams) Good lord this book was awful.
87. Brave New World (Aldous Huxley) School read.
88. The Stone Diaries (Carol Shields)
89. Blindness (Jose Saramago)
90. Kane and Abel (Jeffrey Archer)
91. In The Skin Of A Lion (Ondaatje)
92. Lord of the Flies (Golding) I was supposed to read this in school but I skipped it.
93. The Good Earth (Pearl S. Buck)
94. The Secret Life of Bees (Sue Monk Kidd)
95. The Bourne Identity (Robert Ludlum)
96. The Outsiders (S.E. Hinton)
97. White Oleander (Janet Fitch)
98. A Woman of Substance (Barbara Taylor Bradford)
99. The Celestine Prophecy (James Redfield)
100. Ulysses (James Joyce) Can anyone really read James Joyce unless they are studying stream of consciousness?

5 thoughts on “Books, books, books

  1. I love seeing this meme which is doing the rounds.. it was fun to write and fun to see everyone else’s book experience. Also I am so with you on Watership Down… give me the cartoon any day!!

  2. I can’t believe what GHASTLY books you had to read in school! It’s a miracle that you still read at all. WAR AND PEACE????

  3. Awesome list – so many books, so little time! I so agree with you on “Angela’s Ashes” – when I first began to read it, I was in a pretty sad cycle of my life and there was no way that I could finish it. With a later try, when I felt happy and content, it was bringing me down quite a lot – I did read it till the end, but shed more than a tear. Poor, poor people ;(

  4. Oh, I’m going to have to lift this from you someday soon. Finally a book list with titles I’ve read! I just love reading about books and all the different reactions to them; it’s so interesting.

    Man, if only I’d skipped “Lord of the Flies” when I was in school. Really disliked that book….

  5. Pingback: Return to Me « Make it Snappy

Leave a Reply

