Banff and Clutter … revisited

I finished the reconstruction of Banff. I added 3 inches of stockinette then reknit the 2×2 rib bottom. It fits! And it is so comfy and warm. I have been wearing since the cold blast of arctic weather arrived this week.

If you look at the middle of the reconstructed sweater (on the right), there is a horizontal line where I started the reknit. The line was not created by as a result of reconstruction. It was created by accidentally using US3’s instead of the larger size required.

I used the smaller circs to pick up the stitches before cutting, and then forgot to replace them with larger needles. If I wasn’t lazy, I would have unknit back to those stitches and started again. But I am lazy. And the lazy in me has decided that the stitches will loosen themselves up over time without my help. This yarn is so limp, it might work.

Pattern: Banff
Yarn: Noro Cotton Iroha (70% cotton, 20% cashmere, 10% nylon). Probably discontinued.  I have 5 skeins left in my stash.

Next up, a scarf:

The lace is a simple, 2-sided pattern: yo, k2tog, repeat.

I think the yarn in my stash is multiplying on its own. I keep knitting using this Sirdar yarn but the pile never seems to get smaller. I used all but one skein of navy to make this scarf.

Pattern: Openwork Scarf from Vogue Knitting Scarves Two (a big thanks goes to Kristen at AudioKnits for this book!)
Yarn: Sirdar Snuggly Aran (55% nylon, 45% acrylic)

And my clutter revisited. You all had great suggestions on how to handle clutter.  Thank you so much for your ideas.

I may have mislead you though… I do have storage. I have very little organization but I have storage. Like the smalled plastic drawers on wheels that Lisa, the Domestic Diva, suggested. I have other types of plastic drawers as well. By the way, if you need help reorganizing your craft space, definitely visit Lisa!

I also have shelves on the wall next to my sewing machine. Ribbons and fabric scraps are in ziploc bags. Larger pieces of fabric are folded and stacked (oh so carefully too). The green pillow on the bottom says something about cats at work, but the dog sleeps there.

I have more shelves behind me and across the room. The wire shelves hold my son’s toys (smaller toys are contained in baskets).

I still need to reorganize all these shelves.  I can never find what I need.

Currently, I have decided to keep the bag parts on a big board that I can pick up without disturbing the fabric. When I want to sew, I can move it temporarily.  After I put use this stash, I won’t be cutting out multiple bags parts again… only what I need for one bag at a time.

5 thoughts on “Banff and Clutter … revisited

  1. Well done on sorting your craft space!

    My craft space is also waiting to be reorganised AGAIN!! for at least the 3rd time this year but it will now have to wait until after Christmas. DD has promised to help me, she better had as she contributed to the mess.

    Your FOs are both lovely

  2. Congratulations on the reconstructed Banff. I bet a washing will also help eliminate the line. Hmm, what do you consider arctic weather down there, maybe 60 degrees? ;-p

  3. Great reconstruction! After so much work, and work to make over, I wouldn’t have gone back either. I’m sure the line will ease out. Great knitting all in all–love the open-work scarf! You have more storage than I imagined–what a relief–lol! It sounds like you’re making progress on the clutter front so that’s good. I just got my work space tidy again…here’s to making more messes in 208! Wishing you & yours a wonderful holiday season, peace and many blessings in the New Year! ((HUGS))

  4. How satisfying it must be to be snuggled in one of your own handknits in the cold winter!

    As for clutter, my work space is always a mess- I keep wishing that my husband would get me on one of those makeover shows and some designer/ professional organizer will do it all for me!

  5. Pingback: Sharks and scarves « Knitting Caboodle

Leave a Reply

